Google+ has officially announced to shut down on 2nd April 2019. On February 1st Google+ team has officially sent an email to its Google+ users who have an account and manages a page.
On December 2018 Google announced its shut down because of its less user engagement and challenges faced by them in managing their product.
In December 2018, we announced our decision to shut down Google+ for consumers in April 2019 due to low usage and challenges involved in maintaining a successful product that meets consumers’ expectations.
We want to thank you for being part of Google+ and provide next steps, including how to download your photos and other content.
On 2nd April Google+ accounts and any pages related to it will be shutting down. Google will start deleting the pages that have been created and any content posted.
However, the photos and videos saved in Google Drive and Google Photos won’t be deleted.
On April 2nd, your Google+ account and any Google+ pages you created will be shut down and we will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts.
Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted. You can download and save your content, just make sure to do so before April.
Note that photos and videos backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted.
The process of deleting the complete accounts, pages, content and photos will take time. This may even take a month.
From 4th February user won’t be able to create a new Goolgle+ account, community and pages.
Here’re some of the more details related to it.
If you’re a Google+ Community owner or moderator, you may download and save your data for your Google+ Community. Starting early March 2019, additional data will be available for download, including author, body, and photos for every community post in a public community. Learn more
If you sign in to sites and apps using the Google+ Sign-in button, these buttons will stop working in the coming weeks but in some cases may be replaced by a Google Sign-in button. You’ll still be able to sign in with your Google Account wherever you see Google Sign-in buttons. Learn more
If you’ve used Google+ for comments on your own or other sites, this feature will be removed from Blogger by February 4th and other sites by March 7th. All your Google+ comments on all sites will be deleted starting April 2, 2019. Learn more
If you’re a G Suite customer, Google+ for your G Suite account should remain active. Contact your G Suite administrator for more details. You can also expect a new look and new features soon. Learn more
Google had already announced its Google+ shutdown. Because of its low performance. However, it has been a quite a journey with Google+ not just as a platform but in our daily life.
A one of its own kind and a piece of technology. How phenomenally it was integrated into our daily life usage. And how it impacted our lives.
We at Vitsmuni gives a warm and heartily adieu and tribute to Google+. And hoping Google to bring out a new exciting and dynamic product soon.